WTD, Episode 2.5: Voile d’Ambre and Vanille Noire by Yves Rocher

One day, not too long ago, I wasn’t feeling well and for the most part of that day I stayed “perfumeless.” Since for me it’s a very unusual situation, I felt there was something missing. I was thinking for a while on the scent to choose: on one hand, I wanted something nice and comforting – so trying anything new was completely out of question; on the other hand, I was afraid to ruin one of my favorites by wearing them while I was sick. So I made a slightly cowardly choice: I chose perfume, which I knew was pleasant and which I liked when I wore it before. And at the same time I wouldn’t have been upset too much if I’d hated my $5 mini bottle afterwards. It hasn’t happened. The perfume got me through my bad day without living unpleasant associations. I’m grateful to it and ashamed a little. That day I’d chosen…

Voile d'Ambre & Vanilla Noire by Yves Rocher

Voile d’Ambre – created in 2006 by Olivier Pescheux, notes include cardamom, mandarin, incense, myrrh, opopanax, patchouli, sandalwood and vanilla. This one smells for my nose like a real perfume (no curtseys “for the price”, etc.) Maybe because it doesn’t have any flower notes? I don’t know but I like it. I can smell some citrus in the beginning but after a short while it’s just a smooth and warm incense-sandalwood-vanilla scent.

Voile d’Ambre has a light to medium sillage (3.5 out of 5) and a good tenacity (4+ hours). It can be worn on its own or layered (I tried it with Linden by Demeter and found it to be a very nice combination). Yves Rocher website constantly runs one promotion or the other so if you’re curious you can have it really cheap. My suggestion: a 5 ml mini bottle or a 15 ml purse spray.

Vanille Noire – created in 2010 by Jacques Cavallier, notes include mandarin, mimosa, vanilla bourbon absolute, cedar, Tahitian vanilla absolute and Ugandan vanilla absolute. It’s a very nice and uncomplicated vanilla scent and, as with all perfumes from Yves Rocher, it’s inexpensive. I do not smell anything dark about it (I wonder, which notes in the composition were supposed to convey that “darkness”) but it’s not unpleasant. I wouldn’t wear it “as is”, it’s too simple for my taste, but it might be used for the layering, not to waste more complex perfumes.

As I was looking for real reviews for these two perfumes I came across Dee’s posting: it’s a curious coincidence that we both paired these two minis.

Read also a real review at Perfume-Smellin’ Things.

As always, feel free to post a link to your blog’s post(s) related to the topic.

Image: my own

See previous episodes:

Weeklong Test Drives, Season 2: Yves Rocher
WTD, Episode 2.1: Venice by Yves Rocher
WTD, Episode 2.2: Iris Noir, Tendre Jasmin and Naturelle by Yves Rocher
WTD, Episode 2.3: Rose Absolu and Pur Desir de Rose by Yves Rocher
WTD, Episode 2.4: In the Search of the Perfect Lilac
WTD, Episode 2.6: Nature by Yves Rocher

8 thoughts on “WTD, Episode 2.5: Voile d’Ambre and Vanille Noire by Yves Rocher

  1. Hmm, I like the sound of Voile d’Amber, but it sounds similar to several perfumes I already have. It’s awfully hard for me to resist any incensey perfumes, and the price is ideal. Maybe I’ll give it a shot. :)

    Like

    • I’m not sure if you’re you familiar with the brand and their website. From time to time there is free S&H with $25 purchase. And I could suggest some other products if you do not have your own favorites there.

      Like

  2. Undina, it is funny that we both paired these two scents together! They seem to go hand in hand.

    Vanille Noire was something that I was splashing in my hair after a shower—it seemed like the perfect way to wear it! Ultimately, Voile d’Ambre was pretty, but I like my ambers with a little more zazz. Both were passed along, but I did enjoy them while I had them.

    Yves Rocher kind of reminds me of Bath and Body Works—both produce some really nice scents, but even for easy, effortless wearing I go for something with a little more heft.

    Like

    • Thank you for the shower idea! It will be a great use for Vanille Noire mini bottle. Even though I agree with you on principle (about “easy, effortless wearing” perfumes choice) I wouldn’t dare to use any of the better ones for that type of an application.

      Like

  3. I have the roll on thingy, and I’m glad I didn’t invest in an entire bottle. Like you said, it’s nice enough, but there’s nothing dark about. I wouldn’t mind owning the shower gel and the body lotion for late night showers after a long day – would be nice to be enveloped in a soft vanilla scent when going to bed. And it might work well as a summer scent as well.

    Like

    • I used to like YR’s shower gels but then they discontinued one or two of my most favorite scents, I weren’t buying anything else from them any more so it was too much of a hassle to order just one or two bottles of gel – and I stopped buying from them altogether. There are still several things I can find a use for if I need to order something for a minimum purchase requirements for the free S&H, but I do it once every 2-3 years, I think.

      Like

  4. Pingback: Perfume Diary: NovAmber | Undina's Looking Glass

  5. Pingback: In the Search for the Perfect Vanilla, Part 2 – Undina's Looking Glass

What's on your mind? (I encourage posting relating links to your posts)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.