Entertaining Statistics: 2012 Year Round-up

 

Wearing and testing perfumes every day and getting monthly statistics numbers create some general feeling about where you stand on your likes and dislikes but nothing puts it into prospective better than the complete year data. As I was contemplating this post I was both excited and scared: what would I discover about myself when I compile all the results?

In 2012 I wore and tested more perfumes than in 2011: 414 vs. 376 perfumes from 119 vs. 110 brands. But since starting from December 2011 I was recording the type of use – wear1 vs. testing2 I’m able to get deeper into from where those numbers come.

 

Quick 2012 stats:

* Different perfumes worn1138 from 50 brands on 348 occasions;

Brands I wore in 2012

* Different perfumes tested2356 from 114 brands on 572 occasions;

Brands I tested in 2012

* Perfumes I tried for the first time: 245 (it was 303 in 2011);

I wear perfumes I like and own almost every day. Perfumes I reached for the most in 2012 (with times worn): Dior New Look 1947 (11), Chanel №19# EdT & parfum (10), Chanel Cuir de Russie (8), Guerlain Cruel Gardénia (8), Antonia’s Flowers Tiempe Passate (7), Tauer Perfumes Une Rose Vermeille# (7), Yosh Ginger Ciao (7), Hermès Voyage d’Hermès (6), Les Parfums de Rosine Rose d’Amour (6), Tom Ford Violet Blonde (6), Chanel Bois des Iles (5), Guerlain Encens Mythique d’Orient (5), Lancome Climat (5), Neela Vermeire Creations Bombay Bling! (5), Parfum d’Empire Ambre Russe (5), Tom Ford Amber Absolute (5).

 

Counting my Lemmings (don’t fall asleep!)

In the Weekly Roundup series this year I mentioned 46 perfumes I was looking forward to testing. I still haven’t tried 19 of those (5 haven’t been released yet). My most cherished lemmings are: Ann Gerard Perle de Mousse, Ramón Monegal Impossible Iris, Parfumerie Generale L’Ombre Fauve and Armaini Privé Cuir Noir. I’m still trying to avoid paying for samples so if you have any extras for those mentioned above – let’s swap!

Out of those 27 lemmings that I managed to try I liked 15 and thought that the rest were fine – so no big disappointments.

2012 in Statis Pictures

Seeing 2012 off

Speaking of disappointments, I was surprised to read on many blogs that 2012 wasn’t a good year perfume-wise for many perfumistas. My feeling was that there were many perfumes that I liked. I went through the list of perfumes from 2012 (only those that I’ve tried, not all 1,300+). I liked very much at least 25 perfumes released last year: Amouage Beloved and Opus VI; Annick Goutal Nuit Étoilée; By Kilian Amber Oud, Bamboo Harmony, Forbidden Games and In the City of Sin; Cognoscenti Scent No.16 – Tomato Leather and Scent No.19 – Warm Carrot; Dior Grand Bal; Diptyque Volutes; DSH Perfumes Euphorisme d’Opium, Ma Plus Belle Histoire d’Amour and The Beat Look; Guerlain Encens Mythique d’Orient and Myrrhe et Délires; Ineke Hothouse Flower; Jo Malone Blackberry & Bay and White Lilac & Rhubarb; Jul et Mad Amour de Palazzo; L’Artisan Parfumeur Seville a l’aube; Parfums MDCI Chypre Palatin; Serge Lutens Santal Majuscule; Six Scents Napa Noir and Tom Ford Ombre de Hyacinth. I have four full bottles and seven decants to show for these “likes” and I’m considering several more. Another 15 were not bad; I just didn’t love them.

I’ve done two full years of these monthly stats posts. I wonder if I can still find an interesting angle of analyzing data I collect. We’ll see.  

 

1 For the testing I apply a perfume to one area on my arms easily available for the repetitive sniffing. But, most likely, I’m the only one who can smell it. I can test two, sometimes even more perfumes at the same time.

2 When I wear a perfume I apply it to at least three-four points and usually I plan to spend at least 4-8 hours with the same scent so I’m prepared to re-apply if the original application wears off.

# These were in the Top 10 of 2011 as well.

 

Images: my own

51 thoughts on “Entertaining Statistics: 2012 Year Round-up

  1. When I first started thinking about 2012, I was thinking it was not that great. In 2011 there were two fragrances that completely transported me that I hope to always have in my collection: Tableau de Parfums Miriam and Esprit d’Oscar. I have worn them so much this year. Miriam might be my most-worn perfume (I don’t keep track as well as you!).

    Then as I thought more about it, I realized that I may not have given some of the 2012 perfumes enough of a chance to really comment on how 2012 was in perfumery. I really want decants or bottles of Seville a l’Aube and Encens Mythique d’Orient (already went through a small decant of Seville). I also hope to get my hands on some L’eau de Chloe and Cartier Baiser Vole Extrait. I have a feeling if any of those perfumes entered my collection they would quickly be some of my favorites and worn very often. So, I think 2012 was a pretty darn good year of perfume!

    Your post reminds me I wish to try that YSL collection from Dawn Spencer Hurwitz, and Hothouse Flower. I do have a sample of Amouage Beloved that I want to try this week. :)

    Like

    • That DSH’s collection is definitely worth trying! I’ll get at least one of the perfumes.

      My big sampleof Encens Mythique d’Orient isalmost gone and I contemplate the purchase of the next portion – I just can’t figure out if I should go for the FB or do a decant.

      Like

  2. I loved 2012… both perfume-wise and personally. I almost wish it didn’t have to end. :)

    And I thought there were many great perfumes launched … you’ve covered a number of them here, so I won’t launch into a list. Here’s hoping you can keep your statistics going in 2013, but if not, you always seem to find something fascinating to write about. Your blog was one of my 2012 pleasures!

    Like

    • Thank you, Suzanne, I really appreciate your support. I can’t complain about 2012 on any level as well but it was hard to many – that’s why I’m being cautious and limit the scope.

      Like

      • Yes, you’re right – on a personal level it was hard for many, including some of my closest blogging friends. And I can definitely sympathize with them, as 2011 ended up being a tough year for me, and I think I was just happy that 2012 was a year where things turned around. Hopefully we’ll all have a good 2013!

        Like

  3. Every time I read your statistics I always am fascinated and vow to do the same, only to never get around to doing so. So I will just continue on loving yours :) I’m wondering if we can now call you a Chanel girl…although Guerlain girl sounds so much better!

    Like

    • My favoring Chanel isn’t a surprise. But look at my Guerlain statistics! A year ago it was nowhere even close to Top N and in a year it’s my number 2 in wearing and a clear favorite in testing. I am impressed with my progress :)

      Like

    • Thank you, Scent Bound. If I’d have to do statistics as my job I doubt I’d have had any strength or desire left to do it for my blog (and then I’d be bothered by the fact that my data sampling isn’t representative ;)). I’m an amateur.

      Like

    • Thank you, Birgit. I was surprised myself when I realized how much Guerlain testing and wearing I’ve done. (whispering) I bought two bottles and several decants and was gifted one more bottle.

      Like

  4. I really envy you the energy and effort you put into your statistics (I could never be able to do something like that).
    And it was fun to go through your year round-up, I hope you keep it up. For someone who was very busy with many different things last year, in the end, I somehow ended up trying most of the interesting releases (for me at least) and if I go by that, it was a good year in perfume.
    I am certainly happy with the Neela trio, the new Lutenses and many others.

    Like

    • I didn’t mention NVC’s perfumes because technically they were released in 2011 but I think it was a very strong start for the brand.

      I will keep collecting data of my testing/usage – that’s not even a question. My doubts are related to my ability to find interesting view at those numbers. But I’ll try.

      Like

  5. Love your summary and the beautiful perfume houses “wheel of fortune”

    Undina, I’ve got some Impossible Iris. I shall keep it for you until we swap. See – fate want’s us to swap samples ;)

    Like

    • And you’re definitely getting my “blue” sample: as I suspected, this variation isn’t for me – the same as the original. I’ll be ordering decanting supplies in the next couple of days and we’ll coordinate the swap.

      Like

      • Great, I’m not in a hurry as exam session is beginning shortly (actually it began, had 1st exam on Friday)
        But we can discuss all the details.
        I have a hunch our swap will be a top notch and that it will be quite big ;) (I mean more than 2 or 3 samples) We need to justify costs of shipping across the ocean

        Like

  6. I’m so impressed by your statistics, plenty of work to organize and put all the information together. It’s really entertaining and formative to read. When it comes to 2012 I also think it was a very good perfume year and I (of course) hope 2013 also will be good despite the threatining EU-regulations. My best findings in 2012 was the Ramon Monegals, Opardu (Puredistance) and the Guerlain Les Deserts d’Oreint trio. And I also gone back to appreciate the classic Guerlains, Chanels, Rochas and Diors. Even if reformulated they are standing out from the crowd of current releases.

    Like

    • Thank you, Parfumista. To tell the truth, most work goes into those pictures (graphic designer I’m not) numbers come easy since I regularly enter everything into my database.

      I’m really scared with those future changes. I feel like I should run and buy back-up bottles for most of my current favorites.

      Like

  7. Great post, Undina. Loved the illustrations and the releases you felt positive about last year. Even if they weren’t my thing, there was a lot of high quality perfume there.

    Equally enjoyed finding out your most worn perfumes of 2012. I have really come round to New Look 1947 and would contemplate a bottle next summer.

    Like

    • Thank you, Tara.
      I’m glad you like New Look 1947. I think it’s one of underappreciated perfumes. I hope it won’t suffer from re-formulations. Or, at least, you’ll get your bottle before those hit.

      Like

  8. Hello Julia,

    Great idea! Something like this never crossed my mind. You know what? I am wondering how much did I try in 2012., for sure, not a close to 400 of them…how did you coun? :)

    Juraj

    Like

  9. Thanks for including COGNOSCENTI in your favorite 25 of 2012. I LOVE your stat posts. I look forward to them every month. My left brain adores them!!! My right brain dreams about the possibilities they unravel. Best to you in 2013 and thanks again, Dannielle

    Like

    • Hi Danielle,
      Glad to see you here. And thank you for your kind words. I wish you (and your brand) all the success in 2013.

      Speaking of the brand, is there a chance you’re planning on releasing smaller sizes? A purse spray (5-15 ml) or a discovery set of all three perfumes in 10-20 ml would be great! Even 30 ml bottles would make a lot of the difference.

      Like

      • In the process of switching samples over to 2ml spray bottles. Have been looking at smaller bottles for the line for last couple of months. Haven’t found the right ones yet. Definitely in the works!
        Thanks for your posts. I do enjoy them. Best Dannielle

        Like

  10. Great graphics and even more impressive record keeping behind the charts!

    I am glad to hear that you weren’t disappointed by the lemmings that you did get to try. I have still to marshal my thoughts on what I enjoyed in 2012, but I can see there will be a fair bit of crossover with your favourites, notably Nuit Etoilee, Grand Bal, Santal Majuscule and Seville a L’Aube.

    Like

  11. So is it fair if I decide to consider 2012 the “Year of Guerlain”? :) Because even if there are still no amazing Guerlain loves, its numbers are definitely rising, right?

    I’m surprised (always) by some of the numbers in your posts, so I hope you do decide to keep them up. I’m confident you can find an angle.

    Like

    • Thank you, Natalie!

      2012 was definitely a Year of Guerlein for me: I went from no Guerlein at all to several strong favorites (three full bottles and some decants). And I’m not done yet ;)

      Like

  12. Pingback: Entertaining Statistics: 2013 Year Round-up | Undina's Looking Glass

  13. Pingback: [N]SFW Perfumes – Undina's Looking Glass

What's on your mind? (I encourage posting relating links to your posts)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.